STEFAN HISS

Stefan Hiss Stefan Hiss was born in 1965 and has been playing the accordion since then (well since he was 8 years old anyway). For some reason he lost interest in his local accordion orchestra and its stock of traditional German folk music and began playing rock'n'roll and blues instead. To begin with he thought he was the only one who tormented his squeeze-box in this way, but after a while it dawned on him that he had struck a rich seam. The accordion is not an archaic piece of German history, it's an instrument which always comes to the fore when cultures merge: In northern Mexico it plays feather-light polka, in Louisiana groovy blues and cajun.
This revelation resulted in his current work: the band HISS unites the most diverse genres of rock and folk. Blues meets polka, waltzing into the cumbia with electric guitar and accordion - from Old Europe to the New World. Stefan Hiss has worked with Sol Bruguera (Argentina) and Jesús G. Ojeda (Mexico) amongst others.

Discography:
2006 - HISS - 10 Jahre HISS (DVD & CD) (10 years of HISS)
2003 - HISS - Polka für die Welt (Polka for the world)
2002 - Stefan Hiss solo - König der Schmerzen (King of pain)
2001 - HISS - Tränen, Tabak und Tequila (Tears, tobacco and tequila)
1998 - HISS - Tut Buße (Repent!)
1997 - HISS - Herz und Verrat (Heart and betrayal)


RALF GROHER

Ralf Groher Born in 1970, Ralf started playing the flugelhorn at the age of nine. Between the ages of 11 and 16 he toured throughout Germany, Hungary, England and Holland with the brass band from the Music Club in Nenningen. At 19 he began his singing lessons with the mexican singer and guitarist Arturo Luna. At the same time he switched from the flugelhorn to the trumpet and played funk, jazz and experimental music.
Ralf is a founder member of the 'Kronzeugen', a band with accordion, trumpet, acoustic guitar, double bass and drums which unites tango, polka, waltz, reggae and latin american sounds with an unforgettable style. Since 1995 they've done about 150 gigs in Germany, France and Austria. His work with Edo Zanki, the german soul legend, led to an appearance together at the international accordion festival in Vienna.

DDiscography:
2000 - KRONZEUGEN - Süße Strafe (Sweet punishment)
1999 - KRONZEUGEN - Freispruch total (Full acquittal)


www.los-gigantes.de   •    MySpace

STEFAN HISS

Stefan Hiss Stefan Hiss, Jahrgang 1965, begann mit 8 Jahren Akkordeon zu spielen. Als ihn die Lust am deutschen Volksliedgut und am Akkordeon-Orchester verließ, fing er an, alten Rock'n'Roll und Blues auf dem Akkordeon nachzuspielen. Am Anfang dachte er noch, er sei der einzige, der auf diese Art die Quetsche quälte. Später aber dämmerte ihm, dass er ein reiches Erbe angezapft hatte. Die Ziehharmonika ist kein deutsches Heimatschollengerät, sondern ein Instrument, das gerade da in den Vordergrund drängt, wo Kulturen verschmelzen: Im Norden Mexikos spielen sie damit federnde Polka, in Louisiana groovenden Blues und Cajun.
Diese Erkenntnis bestimmt sein heutiges Schaffen: seine Band HISS vereint verschiedenste Stile der Rock- und Volksmusik. Blues-Feeling trifft auf Polka-Tanzlust, Walzer auf Cumbia, E-Gitarre auf Akkordeon, Europa auf die Neue Welt. Stefan Hiss hat unter anderem mit Sol Bruguera (Argentinien) und Jesús G. Ojeda (Mexiko) zusammengearbeitet.

Diskographie:
2006 - HISS - 10 Jahre HISS (DVD & CD)
2003 - HISS - Polka für die Welt
2002 - Stefan Hiss solo - König der Schmerzen
2001 - HISS - Tränen, Tabak und Tequila
1998 - HISS - Tut Buße
1997 - HISS - Herz und Verrat


RALF GROHER

Ralf Groher Geboren 1970, begann Ralf Groher mit neun Jahren Flügelhorn zu spielen. Im Alter zwischen 11 und 16 Jahren tourte er mit dem Blasorchester des Musikvereins Nenningen durch Deutschland, Ungarn, England und Holland. Mit 19 begann er seine Gesangsausbildung mit dem mexikanischen Sänger und Gitarristen Arturo Luna. Zur gleichen Zeit wechselte er vom Flügelhorn zur Trompete und spielte Funk, Jazz und Experimentalmusik.
Ralf Groher ist Gründungsmitglied der 'Kronzeugen', einer Kapelle mit Akkordeon,Trompete, Akustik-Gitarre, Kontrabass und Schlagzeug, die Tango und Polka, Walzer, Reggae und lateinamerikanische Klänge zu einem unverwechselbaren Stil vereint. Seit 1995 gab es rund 150 Konzerte in Deutschland, Frankreich und Österreich. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Edo Zanki, der deutschen Soul-Legende, führte zu einem gemeinsamen Auftritt beim Internationalen Akkordeonfestival in Wien.

Discographie:
2000 - KRONZEUGEN - Süße Strafe
1999 - KRONZEUGEN - Freispruch total


www.los-gigantes.de   •    MySpace